How it all ends

Weekly writing prompt #131

I struggle with writing endings. Always have.

I suspect itā€™s because I feel so wrung out by the time I near the finish line. Iā€™m eager to slap a bow on it, emerge from my keystroke-induced trance, and rejoin civilization.

Here are a few things critique partners have said about my endings:

  • They are ā€œtidyā€ or ā€œneatā€

  • I ā€œtend to write happy endingsā€

  • Someone once said I was ā€œmoralizingā€ at the end of an essay

With this newfound awareness in mind, Iā€™ve been trying to lean more into that whole mysterious writer vibe and end on ambiguous, open-to-interpretation endings.

Personally, I donā€™t see happy endings as any less valid than messy ones. I think they each have their place. And I hope to be the kind of writer that can land any sort of ending.

P.S. I am traveling for two weeks and will pause Creative Juice for the time being. Your next edition will arrive late and hit your inbox on the 27th.

If you respond to this prompt, Iā€™ll personally email you the submission link on Sunday. Ciao!

Jamie

šŸ“ This weekā€™s writing prompt

Think of a story idea but only write its ending. Alternatively, write the ending to a piece in progress. Or, morbidly, write the ending to your (imagined) lifeā€™s story.

Reply to this email to submit your writing. Submit by Saturday evening and see what everyone else wrote for the same prompt.

Last weekā€™s submissions: Counterfactuals

Did you submit last week? If so, click to view the other submissions šŸ‘€ 

āœØ Writing inspo of the week

ā

There is no real ending. It's just the place where you stop the story.

Frank Herbert

Enjoying Creative Juice? Please share with a friend.