Shine your light

Weekly writing prompt #127

Greetings from day 2 of my MFA residency,

The campus is abuzz with programming and, as usual, I’m already operating on a sleep deficit.

To be in a space of creation in a world seemingly hellbent on destruction reminds me of the urgency and necessity of art. I’m awestruck by peers who show me pieces that seamlessly flit between genres (or buck the notion of genre altogether), peers who can decipher the motifs and influences of a work with the ease of telling time. Everyone here is bringing something new into the world and I can’t get over how astonishing that is!!

You’re here because you’re doing exactly the same. Consider this a reminder to keep sharing your work with the world. You never know whose spirit it will ignite.

And because I am a woman of multitudes and this week’s got me all sentimental, I want to follow up last week’s humorous, irreverent body part apology prompt with one about your sincerest hopes as a writer.

Keep creating,
Jamie

📝 This week’s writing prompt

What are your grandest hopes as a writer/artist? Write it into existence and don’t hold back.

Reply to this email to submit your writing. Submit by Saturday evening and see what everyone else wrote for the same prompt.

Last week’s submissions: Body part apology letter

Did you submit last week? If so, click to view the other submissions 👀 

✨ Writing inspo of the week

Art is the highest form of hope.

Gerhard Richter

Enjoying Creative Juice? Please share with a friend.